Welcome to Freaksigner

Where creative speak!

Tutorial on how to draw human mouth

with 13 comments

For the past few months, I have posted some useful material that I have gathered from Deviantart that shows you how to draw a human figure, human eyes and hand. This time I will share one more collection of tutorials, guide and references on how to draw human mouth.

Every human has a very unique lips shape and this makes drawing a mouth tricky. Lips or the mouth shape that you draw does effect the personality of the character. Observe the mouth shape and movement of the lips when your friends is talking is a good exercise to let you understand more of the angle and the lips shape.

Below is few basic tips that you can refer when drawing mouth. 

  • Female lips usually are fuller than a male lips.
  • Lips tend to get thicker when the mouth puckers up. For example when giving a kiss.
  • The upper lip is usually thinner and more protruding than the lower.
  • Finish drawing the lips first only come to teeth. Lightly sketch the gum shape and not too obvious to show each line or gap and every tooth.

The sketches and images in this post are subject to copyright of the owner. Please click on the drawing to view higher resolution and find more inspiring references from the respected owners of all these beautiful drawings. Enjoy!

 

1) Lips Study by Sariel367

 

Lips Study by ~Sariel367

 

 

2) Lips Tutorial by Chief-Artist-21

 

Lips Tutorial by Chief-Artist-21

 

3) Lips Tutorial by MasterSS

 

Lips Tutorial by MasterSS

 

4) How To Draw Lips – Basic by DeletedSeen

 

How To Draw Lips - Basic by DeletedSeen

 

5) Mouths by Kikariz

 

Mouths by Kikariz

 

6) Lips by fyuvix

 

Lips by fyuvix

 

7) ::LIPS:: by Sweet-Emmy

 

::LIPS:: by Sweet-Emmy

 

8) lips by HarmlessArtist

 

lips by HarmlessArtist

 

9) lips by Artimisia-absinthium

lips by Artimisia-absinthium

 

10) Lips – Reference by xoxtazxox

Lips - Reference by xoxtazxox

 

11) Lips by Mulvin

 

Lips by Mulvin

12) Lips by surges

Lips by surges

13) Lips by inkslinginslacker

 

Lips by inkslinginslacker

 

14) Lip Sync by Robaato

 

Lip Sync by Robaato

 

15) B.T.B- Eyes, lips, nose, ears by Liol

 

B.T.B- Eyes, lips, nose, ears by Liol

 

16) Kiss My Lips by ThoughtUpCreations

 

Kiss My Lips by ThoughtUpCreations

 

17) Allure by KLSADAKO

 

Allure by KLSADAKO

 

18) Lips by indorock

 

Lips by indorock

 

 

You might also interested to read my previous post :

Written by chuinhao10

March 18, 2010 at 12:39 am

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. GREAT REFERENCE STUDIES! THIS IS AN AWESOME BLOG!

    urbanrockwell

    March 19, 2010 at 1:44 am

    • Hey! Just saw your comment. Thanks for the comment! :)

      chuinhao10

      April 8, 2010 at 2:45 am

  2. Excellent. iStocks challenge is what pointed me to your blog.

    tuskerbaridi

    April 8, 2010 at 2:26 am

    • Thanks for visiting! Hope you like what I posted haha!

      chuinhao10

      April 8, 2010 at 2:46 am

  3. how nice!

    Joe

    June 20, 2010 at 11:10 am

  4. I loved this page. It was good. Pictures of mouth in different types and perspectives is very interesting to me. Yes, I draw a little, it is my hobbie so far. lol

    Oswaldo

    July 11, 2010 at 2:42 am

    • hey! glad that you like this post! will post up more tutorial like this in future. thanks for drop by! :D

      chuinhao10

      July 12, 2010 at 11:01 am

      • I was happy for your response. My english is not so good, but I can write many things because I study. I’m enjoying english about 2 years ago. If you have a bit of time and you want to speak a little I would like to know your e-mail adress. I like to speak with artists and I always did it when I have time.
        Again, your work here was veeeeeery good. I wish luck for you.

        OJr

        July 15, 2010 at 9:14 pm

  5. Great post!

    shaylafish

    August 27, 2010 at 2:03 pm

  6. Thx for this!
    It helped me very much!
    I hope I get more to see!

    mwah Kato

    Kato

    January 8, 2011 at 4:29 pm

  7. very nice ………………

    Saravanan Bfa

    October 17, 2011 at 5:06 pm

  8. thanks for the article. Very useful.

    Shankar

    November 29, 2011 at 3:01 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

